Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | July 16, 2020

Scroll to top


No Comments

Nathan Gray (Boysetsfire) announces new album

Nathan Gray (Boysetsfire) announces new album
Salad Days

‘Working Title’ due out 01/31 via End Hits Records. Premieres ‘Working Title’ (ft. Chuck Ragan) music video.

Nathan Gray (the frontman of influential punk band, Boysetsfire) has just announced his sophomore solo album, ‘Working Title’, due out January 31st from End Hits Records. The album finds Gray expanding his sound to capture the mix of punk rock urgency, power pop hooks, and singer/songwriter intimacy that has defined his prolific musical career. The record’s title track (which features the legendary Chuck Ragan of Hot Water Music on backing vocals) along with its accompanying music video. Nathan Gray will be touring throughout 2020 in support of ‘Working Title’, starting with a run of EU and UK dates in February with US shows soon to be announced.

‘Working Title’ follows Nathan Gray‘s 2018 solo debut, ‘Feral Hymns’, an album that represented a massive shift both for his music and his mental health. ‘Working Title’ functions as a direct continuation: it’s the long but hopeful road after the breakthrough, and this time Gray isn’t traveling alone. “Making ‘Feral Hymns’ took a huge burden off,” he explains. “Now with this record, I wanted to figure out how to help support other people who are in their own dark place. We’re all connected in struggle and realizing that you’re not alone can really help—you think there’s no one that can feasibly understand what you’re going through but in actuality there probably is.” Recorded by producer/engineer Pete Steinkopf of The Bouncing Souls (The Menzingers, Dave Hause, Brian Fallon) and featuring drummer Jake Blochinger (The Banner), bassist Chris Rakus (Boysetsfire, The Casting Out), and guitarist Ben Christo (Sisters Of Mercy), ‘Working Title’ reflects the ups and downs of Gray’s continuing journey and the communal spirit that drives it.

‘Working Title’ tracklist:
1. In My Defense
2. I’m A Lot
3. Working Title
4. What About Your
5. Refrain
6. Still Here
7. The Markings
8. Hold
9. Mercy
10. No Way
11. Never Alone
12. The Fall
13. Down

Tour Dates:
02/14 Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater
02/15 Münster, DE @ Sputnikhalle
02/16 Köln, DE @ Kantine
02/17 Frankfurt, DE @ Batschkapp
02/18 Hamburg, DE @ Gruenspan
02/19 Leipzig, DE @ Conne Island
02/20 Nürnberg, DE @ Hirsch
02/21 Wien, AT @ Szene
02/22 München, DE @ Backstage
02/23 Zürich, CH @ Papiersaal
02/24 Stuttgart, DE @ Wizemann
02/25 Saarbrücken, DE @ Garage
02/26 London, UK @ The Courtyard Studio

Submit a Comment