Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | April 1, 2023

Scroll to top


No Comments

Out Now: Unwritten Law ‘Acoustic’

Out Now: Unwritten Law ‘Acoustic’
Salad Days

‘Acoustic’, the 8th studio album from punk/rock heroes, Unwritten Law is out now through Cyber Tracks.

The 13 track record is filled with newly re-­recorded Unwritten Law hits, taken from ‘Unwritten Law’, ‘Elva’, ‘Here’s To The Mourning’, ‘Swan’, and ‘The Hit List’, which have been turned into flawless acoustic renditions. The emotionally rich album features two brand new tracks including ‘Huartbreaker’ a cover originally performed by John Legend and MSTRKRFT and ‘Belongs To You’ written by Scott Russo. The album features Scott Russo (Vocals/Guitar), Chris Lewis (Guitar, currently in Fenix TX), Jonny Grill (Bass), and original drummer Wade Youman; produced by Jim Perkins and Scott Russo, additional production by Chris Lewis and Joe Marlett, mixed by Joe Marlett, and mastered by Tom Baker of Baker Mastering. Formed in San Diego in the early 90’s, Unwritten Law was a major part of the pop punk movement that swept the decade with staple releases like ‘Blue Room’, ‘Oz Factor’, and ‘Unwritten Law’. It was in the late 90’s that the band would tour the world on The Vans Warped Tour and spring them into their biggest release to date ‘Elva’. As the band developed through the early 00’s they began honing in on the ever growing punk energy while featuring more of a rock sound which still remains present in their live shows to date. Today, the band has released eight full-­length studio albums which have sold over 2 million copies and released half ­a ­dozen radio hits including, ‘Seein’ Red’ and ‘Save Me (Wake Up Call)’ both of which entered the top 5 in the US Modern Rock Charts.


‘Acoustic’ Tracklisting:
1. “Celebration” (Originally “Celebration Song” Here’s to the Mourning, 2005)
2. “Nevermind” ( Swan, 2011)
3. “Oblivion” (Originally “Welcome to Oblivion” The Hit List, 2007 (also on Live and Lawless, 2008))
4. “Huartbreaker” (Originally performed by John Legend and MSTRKRFT)
5. “Up All Night” ( Elva, 2002)
6. “ Seeing Red” ( Elva, 2002)
7. “Teenage” (Originally “Teenage Suicide” Unwritten Law, 98)
8. “Starships” (Originally“Starships and Apocalypse” Swan, 2011)
9. “Shoulda” (Originally “I Shoulda Known Better” Live and Lawless, 08)
10. “I Like The Way” ( Here’s To The Mourning, 2005)
11. “Save Me” (Originally “Save Me (Wake Up Call)” Here’s To The Mourning, 2005)
12. “ Cailin” ( Unwritten Law, 1998)
13. “Belongs To You”

‘Acoustic’ is available now on 12″ vinyl, CD and Digital Download here:

Unwritten Law Tour Dates
All dates are with Fenix TX except for the shows marked

1 — Boston, MA @ Middle East Downstairs
2 — New York City, NY @ Marlin Room (Webster Hall)
4 — Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE
5 — Cleveland, OH @ The Grog Shop
6 — Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
7 —­ Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
8 — Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
9 — Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre
10 — Colorado Springs, CO @ The Black Sheep
11 — Salt Lake City, UT @ In The Venue
12 — Reno, NV. @ PB & J’s
13 — Las Vegas, NV @ Backstage Bar
14 — Long Beach, CA @ The Federal (No Fenix TX)
15— ­Santa Ana, CA @ The Ritz (No Fenix TX)
16 — Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst (No Fenix TX)

Unwritten Law are:
Scott Russo (Vocals/Guitar)
Chris Lewis (Guitar)
Jonny Grill (Bass)
Wade Youman (Drums)

Submit a Comment