Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | April 25, 2019

Scroll to top


No Comments

Viza supports Serj Tankian

Viza supports Serj Tankian

Viza continues to captivate the global music scene with an erratically amusing blend of energized international rock. Unique in its musical arsenal is the inclusion of oud and percussion blended with more traditional rock elements such as guitar, bass and drums. This fascinating fusion, combined with dramatic and powerful live performanceshave garnered Viza significant success all over the world. Recorded by Jared Gosselin (D12, Macy Gray) at Frank Zappa’s UMRK Studios, Viza’s fifth album, ‘Carnivalia’ is the band’s most animated work – a journey through a symbolic theme park derived from satirical and dramatic influences. Inspired from Gogol Bordello’s multicultural rhapsodies and System Of A Down’s notorious screams and riffs, ‘Carnivalia’ embodies ‘Viza’’s groundbreaking songwriting and experimentation which has amazed audiences with a mesmerizing blend of instruments, various styles and continued evolution of Viza’s sound. In September 2012, Viza will embark on its second tour with System Of A Down frontman Serj Tankian for his Harakiri World Tour, a nearly 6 week endeavor featuring 19 performances all around the world. In 2010, Viza also supported Tankian’s Imperfect Harmonies’ Tour in Europe in the cities of Hamburg, Cologne, Paris, Zurich, Bologna, Athens and Yerevan. “Loving the new record; ‘Carnivalia’’s awesome. I love hearing the new influences and the fun loving spirit and musical wizardry. Overall a really great effort,” said Tankian. “Viza is one of the most unique and interesting bands I have ever encountered. Their live shows are energetic and fun,” he added. Tankian has worked extensively with the group, serving as Executive Producer of Viza’s previous album entitled ‘Made In Chernobyl’, and also sang as a guest vocalist on the album’s ‘Viktor’ track. Formerly known as Visa, the band released two EPs and two full length albums, along with an award winning music video. The band’s ‘De Facto’, ‘Eros’ and ‘Made In Chernobyl’ albums incorporated music pervaded with sonorities from various influences and musical styles and blended elements of aggressive rock, dance and satirical social commentary. Among the band’s extensive touring schedule, Viza has performed at one of Europe’s largest and most prestigious music events at Hungary’s Sziget Festival’s mainstage (alongside Korn, The Killers, Axwell, The Vaccines, The XXamong several others) as part of a month long European tour in August 2012. Viza has also performed at Sweden’s Malmofestivalen, Norway’s Kartfestivalen, Slovenia’s Schengenfest and Trnfest and Greece’s Rockwave Festival (alongside The Prodigy, Gogol Bordello, Flogging Molly, Marky Ramone’s Blitzkreig), and has toured Europe 6 times in the past 2 years alone. Demonstrating a knack for reinventing old rock classics, Viza recently covered the Doors tune ‘Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)’ by adding its own strong seasonings and aggressive fusion style in a compelling reimagination of this classic rock ballad. The song is available for free download at and will be featured on Viza’s upcoming tour with Serj Tankian. Aside from a passion for music, touring and song writing, Viza’s extensive performances around the globe also serve as their voice for promoting social consciousness of human rights and community issues – as well as providing opportunities to fundraise for various charities, homeless shelters and orphanages.

01. Carnivalia

02. A Magic Ladder

03. Viktor’s Sister

04. Hourglass

05. Illumination

06. Shall We Reign Dance?

07. Everybody Wants Money

08. Sparring

09. Things Are Awkward

10. Tricky Tricky

11. Poor Pete

12. Meet Me At The Troubadour

Submit a Comment