Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | June 25, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments

Belvedere release new single ‘Good Grief Retreat’ out now

Belvedere release new single ‘Good Grief Retreat’ out now
Salad Days

Long-running Calgary, Alberta punk band Belvedere are pleased to announce their forthcoming sixth LP ‘Hindsight Is The Sixth Sense’, set for release (digital/CD/vinyl) on 14th May 2021…

…via Thousand Islands Records in North America and Lockjaw Records in Europe and the UK. To celebrate the news, the band have released lead single ‘Good Grief Retreat’ which is out now on all good digital platforms. Commenting on the track, Belvedere front man Steve Rawles says: “This song speaks of the average worker and the system that benefits off their labour. While the rich can hide behind laws, regulations and a corporate veil that doesn’t hold them accountable for their actions, the worker never gets ahead and has no chance of closing the wage and lifestyle gap. The Retreat in the title refers to the general populace demanding better conditions.”

The forthcoming new album was recorded at Echo Base Studio in Calgary, produced by Casey Lewis and Steve Rawles, and engineered, mixed & mastered by Casey Lewis. The record features guest vocalists Roger Lima (Less Than Jake), Rody Walker (Protest The Hero) and Dylan Toews (Wolfrik).

Additional merch items include an American Socks partnership (limited run of album-themed socks), a full line of new t-shirt/tank tops, and an album-themed Skateboard Deck.


‘Hindsight Is The Sixth Sense’ Tracklisting:

1. Happily Never After
2. Elephant March
3. The Ides
4. Camera Obscura
5. Retina
6. Chromatic
7. Good Grief Retreat
8. Comrade (feat. Roger Lima)
9. 2 Fast 2 Furious
10. Memento Mori (feat. Dylan Toews)
11. Automate (feat. Rody Walker)
12. Heartbreaker
13. Peace In Our Time


Album artwork by Heather Mclean @ Hyphea, additional layout by Sebastien Theriault @ Steriodesign.

About Belvedere:

Canadian skate-punk legends Belvedere barely need an introduction. They are heroes of fast, furious, melodic punk, who’ve never lost sight of their roots. 2020 marked the 25th year of the band’s history, but since all of their tours were moved to 2021, the band felt the need instead to write and record their 6th full-length instalment, ‘Hindsight Is The Sixth Sense’. The album features a furious mix of old and new, with a fresh direction in songwriting attributed to new members Dan Wollach on guitar and Ryan Mumby on bass. Belvedere’s all-familiar speed, riffs, insightful lyrics and singalong harmonies are all still there thanks to drummer Casey Lewis and lead singer & founder, Steve Rawles.

Formed in 1995 and originally never even meant to play a live show, the trailblazing band from Calgary, Alberta quickly grew a reputation on the underground punk scene for their blazing fast speed and melodic vocals.


Submit a Comment