Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | July 23, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments


Salad Days

The song appears on the pioneering Bay Area artist’s new album, ‘Photosynthesis’, out on October 30th.

The latest chapter in Botanist’s wondrous evolution, ‘Photosynthesis’ (out October 30th on The Flenser), is a concept album about how plants convert sunlight into energy, how they transform carbon dioxide into the oxygen that all fauna need to breathe. The album’s eight tracks each deal with an aspect of photosynthesis, from the macro to the micro, and its core visual theme depicts the world’s forests as a functioning lung system’s individual cells, scattered throughout the globe. The artist has released another single from the album titled ‘Bacteria’. This chilling, autumnal new song is akin to the output in Botanist’s ambitious discography; the subject matter on ‘Photosynthesis’ is all about plants and flowers in some way, seen through the eyes of a botanist gone insane from witnessing the destruction of the natural world at the hand of man.

‘Photosynthesis’ is the fourth “collective” album in Botanist’s greater discography, meaning it is composed of a group of individuals. Band originator Otrebor (hammered dulcimers, vocals, keyboards) composed the music and lyrics to the drums of returning member Daturus (the project’s live drummer since 2017, who played on 2019’s ‘Ecosystem’). The album marks the debut contributions of Tony Thomas (who plays with Daturus in Bay Area death metal acts Dawn Of Ouroboros and Sentient Ignition). Thomas’ bass style brings a newfound prog flavor to Botanist’s noted avant-garde, experimental style that has expanded on the genre of black metal, challenging the foregone conclusion that such music must be centered around guitars.


‘Photosynthesis’ Tracklisting:
1. Light
2. Water
3. Chlorophyll
4. Dehydration
5. Bacteria
6. Stroma
7. Palisade
8. Oxygen

Botanist lineup on ‘Photosynthesis’:
Otrebor — hammered dulcimers, vocals, keyboards, lyrics
Daturus — drums
Tony Thomas — bass
Chelsea Rocha Murphy — guest vocals on ‘Dehydration’

Dan Swanö — audio production
Irrwisch + Gaburr — visual art direction

Artist photo by: Siren Sea Media
Artist mask by: Woodland Shrine

Submit a Comment