Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | April 12, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments

Cancer Bats fifth studio album ‘Searching For Zero’ to be released March 9th, 2015

Cancer Bats fifth studio album ‘Searching For Zero’ to be released March 9th, 2015
Salad Days

BMG Rights are thrilled to announce the addition of multiple-Juno nominated hardcore-punk-metal outfit Cancer Bats to their roster.

The beloved Toronto-based band will release their highly anticipated fifth studio LP titled ‘Searching For Zero’ on March 9th, 2015 on their own imprint, Noise Church Records. The 10-track album is now available for pre-order. Fans who pre-order the album will receive an instant grat of the singles ‘Arsenic In The Year Of The Snake’ and ‘Satellites’. The iTunes version of the album will include an exclusive track titled ‘Rust And Bone’. Today, Cancer Bats have also shared a video for ‘Satellites’.

Produced by legendary multi-platinum producer Ross Robinson (At The Drive-In, Slipknot, The Cure, Sepultura, Glassjaw) ‘Searching For Zero’ is simultaneously the most melodic, yet menacing Cancer Bats release. The record incorporates the crude hardcore punk of their 2006 debut, ‘Birthing The Giant’ and more metal leanings of 2008’s ‘Hail Destroyer’, while pushing the heavy hybrid sounds of 2010’s ‘Mayors Bears Scraps And Bones’ and 2012’s darker ‘Dead Set On Living’ to a new plateau. The choruses are hookier, the screams more savage, the riffs more vicious, the songs more powerful. This is Cancer Bats at their pinnacle – their “True Zero.” Inspired by both Robinson and their metal idols Black Sabbath, whom they cover extensively under their alter ego, Bat Sabbath, the 10 songs that make up ‘Searching For Zero’ boast a more raw and organic tonal signature than any previous Bats release. Robinson brought a bare-bones aural aesthetic to the material, capturing a sound that unites the thrashy metal-tinged hardcore of the bands previous releases with a meaty lo-fi intensity, found only in their live shows amongst the sweaty masses. The melodic elements both musically and vocally were inspired by the bands love and admiration of Black Sabbath. “In learning all those Sabbath songs, I ended up having to figure out how to really sing,” laughs lead vocalist Liam Cormier. “In the studio Ross was the one really pushing me to use that new voice I had discovered.” Thematically, ‘Searching For Zero’ comes from a place of heavy contemplation for its creators, and at times, that contemplation grew grim and dark. In the end, the result is an acceptance of the realities that come with pursuing a passion, leaving Cancer Bats with a reinvigorated drive to do right by themselves and the people that have followed them this far. In support of their forthcoming album, Cancer Bats have just announced a co-headlining Europe tour with While She Sleeps for April 2015. Tickets and album bundles for the tour go on sale Monday October 27th at 4pm and tickets on general sale Friday October 31st at 9am.

Catch these two awesome bands at one of the following venues:
02 Apr – Cologne Essigfabrik Germany
03 Apr – Amsterdam Melkweg Holland
04 Apr – Hamburg Gruenspan Germany
05 Apr – Gothenburg Sticky Fingers Sweden
07 Apr – Stockholm Klubben Sweden
08 Apr – Copenhagen Pumpehuset Denmark
09 Apr – Berlin Lido Germany
11 Apr – Warsaw Proxima Poland
12 Apr – Prague Lucerna Music Bar Czech Republic
13 Apr – Vienna Arena Austria
14 Apr – Munich Backstage Halle Germany
15 Apr – Zurich Komplex Klub Switzerland
16 Apr – Frankfurt Batschkapp Germany
17 Apr – Karlsruhe Substage Germany
19 Apr – Luxembourg Rockhal Luxembourg
20 Apr – Paris Petit Bain France
22 Apr – Birmingham Institute United Kingdom
23 Apr – Manchester The Ritz United Kingdom
24 Apr – Norwich UEA United Kingdom
28 Apr – Newcastle University United Kingdom
29 Apr – Glasgow O2 ABC United Kingdom
30 Apr – London Forum United Kingdom

Submit a Comment