Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | June 22, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments


Salad Days

100% of the new single’s digital sales via Bandcamp donated to Black Lives Matter.

Executioner’s Mask — the post-punk/darkwave brainchild of Jay Gambit (Crowhurst), Ryan Wilson (Intestinal Disgorge) and Craig Mickle (LACE, Cop Warmth) — will release their 11-song LP ‘Despair Anthems’ July 10th on Profound Lore. The group (joined live by Samus Clintonov, Joshua Bosarge and Jim Reed) has released the album’s second single, ‘Bury Me A Grave’. The sorrowful new track showcases the band’s moody and melancholic sound with Gambit’s haunting voice front and center.

Executioner’s Mask and Profound Lore will donate 100% of digital Bandcamp sales of ‘Bury Me A Grave’ to Black Lives Matter, the global network which builds power to bring justice, healing, and freedom to Black people across the globe. “While we had scheduled the release of ‘Bury Me A Grave’ as a single and the ‘Despair Anthems’ LP pre-order months ago, infinitely more important things have been happening in the world. The bubble of white supremacy has been expanding for over 300 years, and while the battle for equality is far from over – the least we can do is contribute towards the fight against bigotry and injustice. We encourage everyone to do whatever you can in order to fight, be it with your time, money or resources. For George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Eric Garner, for every name we know and those whose don’t get publicized – silence is violence. Raise your voice,” comments Jesse Howard (J.G.).

Featuring production from Jeff Zeigler (Kurt Vile, Nothing) and Ryan Schwabe (Big Thief, Algernon Caldweller), ‘Despair Anthems’ offers a modern take on the classic blueprints set by Pornography-era The Cure, The Sisters Of Mercy and Red Lorry Yellow Lorry. Executioner’s Mask has arrived at the darkest of times with it’s most haunting offering yet.

Support Black Lives Matter here.

‘Despair Anthems’, Tracklisting:
1. The Defilers
2. No Funeral
3. Bury Me A Grave
4. 1988
5. In the Night
6. True Blue
7. Growing Distances
8. Hatred Of Self
9. Ratboy
10. Freight of Fire
11. Desperation Rising

All songs written by Executioner’s Mask except ‘Freight Of Fire’ which is by Scud Mountain Boys.

Executioner’s Mask is:
Vocals, Synth – Jay Gambit
Drum Programming, Synth – Ryan Wilson
Guitar – Craig Mickle
Guitar (recorded) – Mac Stephens
Bass, Synth (recorded) – Jason Duarte
Drums (live) – Samus Clintonov
Bass (live) – Joshua Bosarge
Guitar (live) – Jim Reed

Submit a Comment