Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | July 20, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments

Metalcore band A Mourning Star share new single ‘Encased In Crystalline’

Metalcore band A Mourning Star share new single ‘Encased In Crystalline’
Salad Days

Announce ‘A Reminder Of The Wound Unhealed’ out 10/13 on DAZE.

Canadian metalcore band A Mourning Star has signed with DAZE for the release of their debut album, ‘A Reminder Of The Wound Unhealed’, out on October 13th. The band unveils lead single ‘Encased In Crystalline’ a melody fueled track leaning into the more goth-infused style of metalcore. Bouncy riffs and jagged screams lead into catchy unclean vocals before building into a ripping breakdown. Drawing influence from acts like Prayer For Cleansing and 7 Angels 7 Plagues, the band’s style fits right alongside recent DAZE signees like Since My Beloved and Adrienne. When A Mourning Star dropped their first proper release, ‘To See Your Beauty Fade’, in March 2022 (The Coming Strife), the band knew they created something they were proud of but did not dream of the strong response the four songs would receive. From there they hit the road with fellow Canadian metalcore band and now labelmates Serration, as well as opening for acts like Knocked Loose, Chamber and Mindforce. Releasing three more songs in 2022, with the latest being October’s ‘A World Beyond’ six of those tracks have been remastered for the release of ‘A Reminder Of The Wound Unhealed’, encompassing the second half of the record. Creating a polished franticity, the band recorded with Andre Urquidi over two sessions in Vancouver before sending it off to Chris Dimas for mixing and Adam Cichocki for mastering.

A Mourning Star is Elijah Robinson – Vocals, Christian Frizzelle – Lead Guitar, Tyler Peason – Bass, Byron Mayer – Drums and Ravi Bhatti – Rhythm Guitar.


‘A Reminder Of The Wound Unhealed’ Tracklist:

1. Encased In Crystalline

2. Corruption

3. Burnt Offering

4. A Mourning Star

5. Would It Be Easier If My Flesh Tangled Through This Blade

6. Vilomah

7. A World Beyond

8. Avatar Of Darkness

9. Discretely Shadowed Beneath A Mighty Wing

10. Interlude

11. To See Your Beauty Fade

12. Original Mind

Upcoming Shows:

8/20 – Vancouver B.C. @ The Cobalt w/ Juice

11/18 – Tulsa, OK @ Flyover Fest w/ Twitching Tongues, Pain Of Truth + more

Photo Credit: Gaby Pereira

Submit a Comment