Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | June 15, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments

The Kilograms announce debut EP, stream ‘Who Am I (To Say)’ & ‘I Swear’

The Kilograms announce debut EP, stream ‘Who Am I (To Say)’ & ‘I Swear’
Salad Days

Back in October, Joe Gittleman of The Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Avoid One Thing announced that he had started a new band with Sammy Kay called The Kilograms.

Their introduction to the world was a soulful ska track titled ‘Who Am I (To Say)’ that was featured on the benefit compilation ‘Black Sand Relief: A Benefit For Michelle Ska And The People Of Maui’. Now the band has announced that they have added Michael McDermott (The Bouncing Souls, Joan Jett) and J Duckworth (Newport Secret Six) into the mix, and they will be releasing their self-titled debut EP on February 9th. Connecticut indie label, Asbestos Records, will be pressing the EP as a limited edition vinyl release of 200 with an etched B-side and silkscreened jackets. The Kilograms will release the entire EP digitally on Friday, February 9th but for now you can stream ‘I Swear’ and ‘Who Am I (To Say)’ to tide you over.

The Kilograms are a new project formed by Joe Gittleman (Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Avoid One Thing), Sammy Kay, Michael Mcdermott (The Bouncing Souls, Joan Jett), J Duckworth (Newport Secret Six). After meeting at a festival and keeping in touch, trading song ideas and mixes, Gittleman and Kay decided to collaborate on a new studio project, tracking their first song to benefit a friend who lost their home in the Hawaii fires. The ease and excitement of the collaboration brought in Mcdermott to play drums and Duckworth into the fold on guitar, as well as producing and mixing the first batch of songs. Their debut self-titled EP is 5 tunes dripping in the old and new. With three generations of musicians creating together, The Kilograms are pulling a sound that pays respect to where they all laid their roots, while establishing a tone that is truly their own.

Album credits:
J Duckworth – Guitar, Vocals, Percussion
Joe Gittleman – Bass, Vocals, Guitar
Michael McDermott – Drums
Sammy Kay – Guitar, Vocals, Piano, Organ

With help from:
Brittany Luna – Vocals
Esteban “Junior” Flores – Piano
Todd Farrell Jr – Pedal Steel Guitar
Jeff Rickels – Percussion, Bells, and that weird Theremin thing

All songs were recorded in home studios and mixed by J Duckworth in Newport, KY.
Agent Jay mixed ‘Dub Am I’ at Stabby Road.
John Hoffman mastered the EP at The Lodge in Dayton, KY

Album Art: James Walker
Press Portrait: James Walker

FFO: The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, The Pietasters, The Aggrolites, Westbound Train

Submit a Comment