Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | May 22, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments

The Methadones to re-release ‘This Won’t Hurt…’ on vinyl

The Methadones to re-release ‘This Won’t Hurt…’ on vinyl
Salad Days

Just in time to celebrate its 15th anniversary, Red Scare Industries is re-releasing The Methadones’ fifth full-length, ‘This Won’t Hurt…’, on vinyl for the very first time.

The LP is a limited pressing, including a never before released bonus track. It was originally recorded in March of 2007 with Matt Allison at Atlas Studios in Chicago, and was remastered for vinyl in February of 2022 by Collin Jordan at The Boiler Room. The Methadones came together formally in 1999 when Dan Schafer (Dan Vapid) recorded some songs with fellow Mopes members Chris Barnard (also known as B-Face) and Dan Lumley. Schafer had played sporadic shows under The Methadones moniker throughout the 90’s as a side project to his other bands, The Riverdales and Screeching Weasel. ‘Ill At Ease’, the band’s first album, arrived in 2001 on AF Records and what had been a side project for Schafer became a full-time endeavor. Geographic issues forced Schafer to recruit Chicago musicians Mike Soucy, Pete Mittler and Mike Byrne on drums, bass, and guitar respectively, forming the lineup that would carry on for the next decade. Not slowing down, 2007 brought ‘This Won’t Hurt…’, also on Red Scare Industries, a more polished sounding collection of 12 pop-punk classics. A more diverse group of songs highlights a band whose power-pop, pop-punk, and rock-and-roll influences work seamlessly together to create a unique sound and energy that is quintessentially Methadones. In 2010, The Methadones released their self-titled and final release on Asian Man Records. The album is a collection of new songs, a split record originally released with The Copyrights, and two 7” releases. This record shows the band further perfecting their pop and power-pop sound while also delivering some of their shortest and punchiest songs to date. Playing only a handful of reunion shows over the last 12 years, The Methadones are back with new guitarist Simon Lamb (Screeching Weasel, Dan Vapid And The Cheats, The Riverdales) and excited to play more shows. In addition, Red Scare Industries will be releasing ‘This Won’t Hurt…’ on vinyl for the first time and just in time for their tour this summer. Call it pop-punk, power-pop, rock-and-roll, or punk: The Methadones are all and none of those, and defy characterization. They’ve influenced countless bands over the last 20 years and we’re so excited to have them back in 2022.

1. Six Degrees Of Separation
2. Getting Older/Losing Touch
3. Poor Little Rich Girl
4. Street In My Hometown
5. Turning Up The Noise
6. Where Did You Hide The Sun
7. Falling Forward
8. Alcohol Makes The World Go Around
9. Break Out Of My Head
10. Starting Line
11. I Believe
12. Already Gone
13. Take Me To Japan (Bonus Track)

“When we started booking our upcoming shows, we thought it would be awesome to have ‘This Won’t Hurt…’ pressed on vinyl – and Toby (Red Scare Industries) agreed. We haven’t played a show since 2015, so we’re really looking forward to getting out and playing these songs again.” – The Methadones

6.11.22 – Reggies Rock Club, Chicago, IL
7.2.22 – Red Flag, St Louis, MO
7.15.22 – Punk Rock Raduno, Bergamo, Italy
10.29.22 – THE FEST, Gainesville, FL

Submit a Comment