Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | June 19, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments

Avail announce 30th anniversary reissue of debut LP ‘Satiate’

Avail announce 30th anniversary reissue of debut LP ‘Satiate’
Salad Days

Available on vinyl for the first time in 15 years. Finally on streaming services. Announce shows w/ Hot Water Music.

Legendary punks, Avail, have announced a 30th anniversary reissue of their debut full-length, ‘Satiate’. Long since out-of-print, the album is now available on vinyl for the first time in nearly fifteen years and finally accessible on all streaming services. ‘Satiate’ captures the influential Richmond, VA-based band in their formative years, still raw but already honing their singular blend of hook-filled punk and hardcore aggression. Over the years ‘Satiate’ has been released by several labels before eventually falling out of print and becoming a highly sought after collector’s item. This reissue now brings an indispensable piece of Avail‘s history back to the wider listening public. The creation of ‘Satiate’ found Avail solidifying their line-up, most notably with Tim Barry moving from drums to vocals. His powerful voice and knack for combining social commentary and storytelling is on full display across ‘Satiate’‘s brisk runtime, perfectly complimented by the band’s ferocious-yet-melodic instrumentation. Over the ensuring decades Avail released numerous classic albums and toured relentlessly before taking a lengthy hiatus that was eventually ended in 2019 with a string of rapturously received reunion shows. Those performances sparked a renewed appreciation for Avail‘s incredible contribution to punk rock, and now the ‘Satiate’ reissue finally allows listeners to celebrate the beginning of the band’s journey.

Barry discussed the reissue saying:
‘Satiate’ is the missing link in many peoples Avail record collections. Although an artifact that displays the band just beginning to find our own way, certain songs show a clear path to where we were heading. This repress is for the collectors, the folks who stuck by us from the start, and for new folks wanting to listen to some old music.”

Avail have also announced a run of Southeastern U.S. shows with Hot Water Music. See full itinerary below. ‘Satiate’ is out now.

photo credit: Chris Boarts Larson

‘Satiate’ tracklist:
1. March
2. All About It
3. Forgotten
4. Bob’s Crew
5. Observations
6. Upward Grind
7. Stride
8. Timeframe
9. Pinned Up
10. Predictable
11. Twisted
12. Hope

Upcoming Shows:
02/25 Carrboro, NC @ Cats Cradle *
02/26 Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade *
02/27 St Petersberg, FL @ Jannus Live *

* w/ Hot Water Music

Submit a Comment