Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Salad Days Magazine | July 20, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments

Hardcore band Buggin radiate on new single ‘Attitude’

Hardcore band Buggin radiate on new single ‘Attitude’
Salad Days

From Flatspot Records’ The Extermination Vol. 4 Compilation out January 27th.

Last month, Flatspot Records announced The Extermination Vol. 4, a compilation featuring exclusive tracks from artists on their roster and some of their favorite rising bands in the hardcore scene. Things kicked off with Australian hardcore band Speed’s thumping new single and video ‘One Blood We Bleed’, and the next release comes from Chicago’s Buggin with ‘Attitude’. On the track the band showcase their signature style of positive, fun hardcore laced with bouncy guitars and a video that sums up the vibe. The song was recorded at Mystery Street Recording in Chicago with vocals recorded by Jeff Barrow, and then mixed and mastered by Jon Markson. Speaking on the influences for the song, vocalist Bryanna Bennett (they/them) states:

“For ‘Attitude’ I really wanted to tap into our biggest inspiration Bad Brains and make something positive. I was really struggling with my mental health and feeling motivated to even create anything so it just made sense to pour all my bad feelings into a song that I hope others can relate to and feel inspired by.”

Set for release on January 27th, the fourth volume of The Extermination showcase a wide range of hardcore stylings, from metallic to punk-leaning. Contributions come from End It, Jivebomb, Section H8, The Chisel, and Spy, just to name a few. Started in 2012, The Extermination series has previously featured early tracks from notable artists such as Turnstile, Terror, Power Trip, Cruel Hand, and King Nine across its first three volumes. Speaking more on the compilation’s message and history, Che and Ricky expand:

“This compilation was started to provide a snapshot of the current state of hardcore. Every song is exclusive to the series, and we love to see bands take pride in giving us some of their best songs for this compilation. With Volume 4, we present the next wave of hardcore from our perspective. For this volume, every single band gave 110% raw power and pure energy. This is a true representation of hardcore in its purest form.”

The Extermination Vol. 4 is available for vinyl pre-order now and you can find the full tracklist below. Flatspot Records has also announced a showcase taking place in Brooklyn, NY on April 8th featuring Speed, Scowl, King Nine, Regulate, End It, Raw Brigade, Hangman, Buggin, and Jivebomb.


The Extermination Vol. 4 Tracklist
1. Speed – One Blood We Bleed
2. The Chisel – Punisher
3. Buggin – Attitude
4. Section H8 – Unhinged
5. Raw Brigade – Keep On Running (Crux Cover)
6. Jivebomb – American Rule
7. End It – Familia Finito
8. Spy – Mob
9. Law Of Power – Nothing To Show
10. Mutually Assured Destruction – The Axeman’s Letter
11. Choice To Make – Tryin’

Buggin | Photo Credit: Arturo Zarate

Submit a Comment